Search Site
Menu
Testimonials

Praise for Clayton Spencer

Recommend
Clayton has done a fantastic job finalizing my parenting plan! He talks fast (admittedly) because he has so much energy and passion for what he does and doesn’t want to waste your time. He’ very knowledgeable in family law and sets reasonable expectations whether it was what I wanted to hear or not. He looks out for his clients best interest and the child in my case.. what I was most impressed by was after about 8 months, he returned my voicemail right away to answer my questions and spent about 15 minutes of his time giving me advice with expecting nothing in return. He is top notch!by Krista July 2, 2021

This is the one
Mr Spencer has been in practice for over 30 years. He knows the law better than any attorney I know, and I actually know several. He is honest, straightforward, and will work hard (even at crazy hours), to bring the best results possible. – Jason Ackley May 25, 2021

Thanks for everything! You are the best!
I came to Clayton seeking representation for my divorce. This is my first marriage and so going through a divorce was beyond anything I’ve ever experienced. I had no idea what to expect until I marched into the office of Clayton Spencer. First was a consultation where we met, and he informed me of the timeline/order of events, fees and such that I could expect. He was not pushy, he even wanted me to look into my options before committing to his help. My divorce wasn’t nasty, but it wasn’t simple either, and unless you have a crystal ball there is no way to know what you will need or problems that will arise. I am so happy that I had Clayton in my corner to help see me through this horrific time in my life, he navigated the uncharted waters for me and super pleased with knowledge, professionalism and understanding of my expectations. Thank you to both you and Jill for being so responsive and proactive, and diligent with my case! – Pamela, July 21, 2020

Child Custody Lawyer

Mr. Spencer is a honest and thorough lawyer. I hired him to represent me in a child custody case. He took me through a variety of outcomes that may occur and asked me questions so we could create the most beneficial case. When me and the other party came to an agreement on our own time, Mr. Spencer and his secretary Jill helped complete the parenting plan and Jill filed the paperwork quickly. Jill was able to assist me and answer any questions I had. I will hire them again if I ever need legal help in the future.Heather July 18, 2020

A M A Z I N G !

Clayton was amazing with my case. He was very professional yet you still feel comfortable and can relax with him. I am very grateful for Him taking patience and time out of his day to make sure everything with me, my daughter and my case went well. The efforts, time, and attitude of not only Clayton but his secretary Jill as well, were phenomenal! I would recommend them to anyone looking for a good lawyer trying to take on your case! – Jessy July 18, 2020

Exceptional lawyer with integrity

As someone very new to divorce proceedings, I had many questions and concerns about the divorce process. Clayton and Jill guided me through every step with patience and integrity. My experience with Spencer Law was nothing short of exceptional.

From our first interaction, I felt confident that I was working with people who cared about using my time and money well, keeping me informed, hearing my perspective on actions to take, being straightforward and honest with all parties involved, and doing fantastic work for me, their client. That confidence was well-placed, as Clayton, Jill, and I worked closely together to reach a very positive outcome in my divorce proceedings. I was given many opportunities to ask questions and seek clarification. I was able to enter our meetings together, as well as the court hearing and interactions with the opposing party, with confidence and calm.

I believe that if I hadn’t retained Spencer Law, I likely would have settled for much less than I deserved in my divorce. Thank you, Clayton and Jill, for making my divorce a positive experience that will make a difference in my life, and the lives of my kids, for many years to come.

I recommend Spencer Law to any client who is ready to work as a team with their lawyer. Clayton will go above and beyond in getting your case done in a timely and effective manner. 5/5 stars (I wish I could rate them even higher) – Rianne May 18, 2020

Highly skilled, empathetic attorney

As a member of the legal community, I’m aware of the top notch attorneys in our area. Clayton was the first person I reached out to when seeking legal representation. His reputation as a highly regarded, knowledgable attorney was evident. Not only was he professional, but showed empathy during a time most critical. Often times, calling upon him to ease my fears during a new life transition. I cannot thank him enough for sailing me through tough waters. I am forever grateful. – Whitney March 19, 2020

Spencer Law did an amazing job from the start. Clayton is very thorough, to the point, easy to talk to, stern and professional in the courtroom. He is who you want on your side. Jill is amazing as well, she took an interest in my family’s life, even outside of the case. They helped me gain full custody of my son! They will be the first call if I need professional help again. Thank you Clayton and Jill! – Brad K., October 2019

My ex blindsided me by changing our parenting plan (without serving me) as I discovered on the eve prior to a two week international vacation. I sent an email to four different attorneys offices and Clayton was the only one who called me immediately that Friday morning. He reassured me of my rights and encouraged me to enjoy my vacation and we would team up to handle the legal situation upon my return. The other three attorneys replied to my email with vague information and request for retainer to get started. Clayton never even mentioned money on that first phone call! I liked him from that first conversation and he never disappointed throughout the process. Clayton is clear and concise with his words and extremely knowledgeable about the law. I found him to be very honest and he communicated with me every step of the process. He gave his honest assessment of things along the way and gave me the information I needed to make informed decisions in regards to my legal situation. I had worked with a local “legal assistant” on a previous matter and while she was a bit cheaper in price, so was her service. I was afraid to hire an attorney, based on a previous experience of an attorney working to seemingly create billable hours rather than come to a resolution with the case. Clayton was not this guy! In fact, I was pleasantly surprised to find his charges were very reasonable! I still have money left to go back to college and for that I am very grateful. I can’t thank him and his assistant Jill enough for handling my legal issue with such efficiency and professionalism. I felt proud and empowered to have such a strong legal representative in my corner. I hope I never need to hire an attorney again but if I do, Clayton will be the one! – Danielle H., August 2019

Honesty and kindness are what I look for in any person and company. This was truly reflected in every conversation I had with Clayton and Jill. My case was resolved quickly and I was happy with the outcome. – Hosanna S., December 2019

I’ve worked with Clayton many times and he never ceases to amaze me with his skill and ability to be caring and straightforward about how a case should be handled. I will always go back to him if need be, never second guessing it. – Lindsay J., July 2019

I took on a case opposing Mr. Spencer. He stood up for his client while maintaining professionalism. I’ve also seen him in the courtroom at trial and he was a fierce advocate for his client. – Joseph M., July 2019

Clayton is so good, that opposing counsel thanks him for butt-kickings!!! Enough said! Schedule your consult with Jill, they will take care of you! – Dan G., August 2019

Clayton is always professional and will always be my first choice. He is an excellent representative when you need one. I highly recommend. – Jennifer M., March 2019

I called Clayton to discuss getting custody of my children from a different state. I even set an appointment. He called me the same day and we chatted for about 20 mins. He was VERY knowledgeable and explained in great detail what my options were. in the end, he suggested there was no reason to meet as i had just had a free consultation! I was very impressed with his professionalism and clear, detailed explanations of my situation. when i need a lawyer again, for anything divorce related, this is my guy! – Tony, February 2019

Clayton is amazing attorney. He helped with a very difficult child custody case. My case was a mess dragging out for years when I came to Clayton he put out all the fires that were dragging in my case. He really cares about his clients and treats you like family. I am truly blessed to have him as attorney. – Laura S., January 2019

Clayton and his team were instrumental in my family law case. I was pleased with his communication regarding my case, and it was clear from what transpired in the courtroom that Clayton is a well seasoned attorney who advocates for his client’s best interest. You get what you pay for, and Clayton Spencer is well worth the investment. – Elizabeth K., February 2019

I was lucky to find Clayton Spencer to help me during a time critical family law issue from out of state. My first lawyer in area gave up. He jumped right in and got result we wanted. He is very experienced and professional. I would definitely use him again but pray I don’t need to. – John A., December 2019

Clayton Spencer and his assistant made a difficult situation much easier. They always took the lead and took care of everything for me. Great communication at all times. I was fortunate to have found Spencer Law. – Lori C., December 2018

I was referred to Clayton Spencer to handle a legal matter. Not only did he call me immediately, but talked me through options and the law over the phone without a fee. He also met with me over time to support the best options and directions that would ensure my needs were met. He was personable, took out the roadblocks and assured me of my decisions with clear rationales and ensured that I understood every option at my disposal. I highly recommend Mr. Spencer! – Erika M., November 2018

THANK YOU. Words can’t actually describe my gratitude but I can definitely tell you that your ability to manage me and my messy situation could not come with greater appreciation.  I truly believe that I could not have managed it as well or as successfully without you.  You are such a blessing to this crazy world and you’re helping make a true difference in people’s live.sLindsay, J., June 2018

I was referred to Mr. Spencer via a friend and after our initial consultation I knew that his experience would be an invaluable asset in helping me resolve my case. He was forthright and spelled everything out for me, and explained how he could help me and what to expect as far as range of possibilities in my court case as a defendant. I retained Mr. Spencer and he always answered my questions in a very timely, thorough manner. Mr. Spencer was able to resolve my case in circumstances that I was satisfied with. If you are in need of an experienced attorney that will be honest while being an advocate for you, I would highly recommend him.Brian P., Vancouver, March 2018

First of, I want to thank you for your counsel during this grueling process. In our initial meeting you laid out an expectation of how this process would transpire. The process followed that expectation almost exactly. I appreciated the candor then, and appreciate it even more now. I would also agree that the outcome be graded as an “A”, as frankly I did not allow myself to believe that we would have been awarded the lions share if what was asked of the courts. I believed the case was strong and warranted the judgements that have been made but I also believe that your preparation and actions in the courtroom were paramount to the decisions madePatrick O., Vancouver, January 2018

You have no idea how much I appreciated the kindness, patience, and above all the love you showed me during the last five months.  I could not have coped through this nightmare without you. Thank you!  I also wanted to let you know how grateful I am to have had you in my corner during this ordeal.  It means a lot to me to have had someone (so amazingly talented and competent) who I had complete trust in handling the most difficult event of my life. Once again my most sincere thank you! – Judith D., Vancouver, June 2017 

I highly recommend Clayton Spencer an his very professional team! As a former prosecuting attorney Clayton brings a highly valuable set of professional skills to the table. I came to Clayton by way of referral, my personal situation was one that included the need for both criminal and family law representation. On both sides of the coin Clayton offered clear insight and assertive representation.  I was made aware of options, advantages, and draw backs of potential actions and outcomes. My criminal representation lasted 2 weeks, ending in a dismissal. My divorce was finalized in 94 days from filing! To those of your considering representation, do yourself a favor and call these folks first. You will be hard pressed to find ANY attorney in the area to match their level of knowledge, professionalism, or commitmentJohn B., January 2017

I’m having a reflective and grateful moment and wanted to reach out to you guys to share my thoughts and feelings of gratitude. I realize I was just another client out of hundreds and hundreds for you guys, but you guys are much more than that to me. More than I can really express in words…  In the most fractured place a man could ever be, you all had tremendous empathy, patience and compassion for my highs, lows and every other vastly swinging emotion I experienced through that process.  I am very grateful you guys never “wrote my case off” like other law offices did in my situation…  You guys hung in there, guided and fought, HARD, for me and my child.  Although words can’t begin to express my gratitude, I want to express a very sincere and heartfelt thank you. I don’t know where my life would be without you guys believing in me. I’m not sure my child will ever truly know how important you all were in giving him a chance to grow up and really have his life meaningfully molded by his daddy, but I know and will forever be in your debt. Thank you all for your expertise, talents, skills and compassionate hearts!  – Chad W., Vancouver, April, 2017

Clayton helped me during a custody case that I would have never known my rights at the level he is knowledgeable. I would recommend anyone who needs a family lawyer to hire him. He is very kind and understanding along with being a great lawyerSarah, Vancouver, May 2016

I had an initial consultation with Mr. Spencer, and circumstances dictated that I did not need to retain his services after all. However, I will say that I came away from the meeting, with a thorough understanding of my case, and the process the courts would take. His demeanor is direct, without being condescending, and I feel he would have been just the advocate I would have needed in a child custody battle. Mr. Spencer didn’t tell me what I wanted to hear, or what he thought I wanted to hear, but he told me what I needed to hear. It was this kind of honesty that had me ready to hire him, had I needed to make that decision – Former Client Consultation, April 2016

From the moment I hired Clayton, he has been and remains my steadfast advocate. Over the past five years, I have had three (two family and one criminal) cases, in all three courts (District, Superior, and Appellate) requiring his counsel and representation.

Custody, restraining orders, no-contact orders, family support, child support, community property, dividing assets and liabilities, conflict/resolution, motions, hearings… OH MY! Marital dis-entanglement and/or an adversarial divorce (however you put it) can be and IS emotionally, physically, and financially exhausting!

Clayton understands the sacred trust reposed in him, and he earns and keeps that trust with every email, phone call, and face-to-face. He is honest and forthwith, explaining the worst case scenario up front and delivering the best case scenario in the court room (if your case happens to go to trial).

Clayton will represent you and get you the BEST possible outcome –> regardless of your innocence or guilt. He knows his way around the courtroom and commands attention through his legal expertise AND experience, and his fluid communicative style. He has a PHENOMENAL courtroom presence! In fact, I would go to court (even when I wasn’t required to be there) and sit in the back just to watch him in action!

Facing legal challenges and the courts is NO place to be alone, as the outcome of ANY legal proceeding can have a serious impact on you for years to come. I highly recommend discussing your legal needs, issues, and/or questions with Clayton. You will NOT be disappointed!

Hands down, he is the best investment I have made in me – he is my lawyer for life!W.C, Vancouver, February 2016

I was in need of a restraining order immediately from a dangerous ex.. his entire office jumped to attention and got it done in 45 minutes. Clayton is platinum quality and you will not find a finer attorney in Vancouver to back you upFormer Client, 2013

Testimonials
  • "Clayton has done a fantastic job finalizing my parenting plan! He talks fast (admittedly) because he has so much energy and passion for what he does and doesn’t want to waste your time. He’ very knowledgeable in family law and sets reasonable expectations whether it was what I wanted to hear or not. He looks out for his clients best interest and the child in my case.. what I was most impressed by was after about 8 months, he returned my voicemail right away to answer my questions and spent about 15 minutes of his time giving me advice with expecting nothing in return. He is top notch!" - Krista July 2, 2021

  • "Mr Spencer has been in practice for over 30 years. He knows the law better than any attorney I know, and I actually know several. He is honest, straightforward, and will work hard (even at crazy hours), to bring the best results possible. " - Jason Ackley May 25, 2021

  • "I came to Clayton seeking representation for my divorce. This is my first marriage and so going through a divorce was beyond anything I’ve ever experienced. I had no idea what to expect until I marched into the office of Clayton Spencer. First was a consultation where we met, and he informed me of the timeline/order of events, fees and such that I could expect. He was not pushy, he even wanted me to look into my options before committing to his help. My divorce wasn’t nasty, but it wasn’t simple either, and unless you have a crystal ball there is no way to know what you will need or problems that will arise. I am so happy that I had Clayton in my corner to help see me through this horrific time in my life, he navigated the uncharted waters for me and super pleased with knowledge, professionalism and understanding of my expectations. Thank you to both you and Jill for being so responsive and proactive, and diligent with my case!" - Pamela, July 21, 2020

  • "Mr. Spencer is a honest and thorough lawyer. I hired him to represent me in a child custody case. He took me through a variety of outcomes that may occur and asked me questions so we could create the most beneficial case. When me and the other party came to an agreement on our own time, Mr. Spencer and his secretary Jill helped complete the parenting plan and Jill filed the paperwork quickly. Jill was able to assist me and answer any questions I had. I will hire them again if I ever need legal help in the future. " - Heather July 18, 2020

  • Awards

    Clayton Lee SpencerClients’ ChoiceAward 2020 Clayton Lee SpencerReviewsout of 16 reviews
  • Contact us

    Quick Contact Form